Do you ever get that feeling like everyone is against you? You can do no right? Well, thats the way I'm feeling right now and like Michelle said to me, along these lines 'you should blog to air your feelings and you'll feel much better' I'm deciding to blog today and air my grievances.
4 years I've been with this company, I've worked so hard, a lot harder than others I may add. I even got 'coach of the year' for the work I done in 2011 which was a highlight of my coaching career but the summer of 2012 was amongst the worst I've had in terms of coaches I worked with, the quality and attitude of coaches also. 2013 never improved at all and it seems this company are employing people to simply 'make up the numbers' despite their obvious lack of coaching experience and more worrying knowledge and qualifications. It's just as well parents who send their kids to the camps dont know much about coaching ability otherwise things would go downhill much faster. For me this 'job' is all about the lifestyle to around 75% of the people employed, some even using it as a holiday. I pride myself in being in that 25% bracket who's here for the job, to coach kids and make a difference.
Today I had a real think about things and what follows might just be coincidence or it might just be that everyone is against me.
Spring 2013, I'm doing my work in SLC which I loved despite the fact it was 90% pre school work. One school which I was at was a nightmare from day 1, kids behaviour was dreadful, never listened, parents sat there and done nothing, even witnessed a kid defying one parents repeated warnings to stop doing something but was ignored. How could I get the kids to listen if they don't want to? Parents do nothing? Teachers do nothing? I went down the route of sitting them out but to no avail, so I persevered as I have patients. It got to the stage where I had enough and had a word with the head teacher of the school. I told her about the kids behaviour, parents doing nothing. 2 kids were the instigators while their parents done nothing to help. It was around a day or 2 later I get an email from my boss telling me the school aren't happy with me (coincidence?', that I don't discipline kids and they want improvement. Not once was I asked about my side or anything, just took the schools word for it. Turns out one of the kids who messed around and who's parent done nothing was a teacher at the school. No doubt they took that as offence that I'm saying the parent (teacher) isn't helping control her kid. Not once was I asked about things. That kids sat there and threw sticks at me, never listened, never paid attention, called me names, one actually callled me an idiot. But I had patients and shrugged it off. But yet I'm the bad guy. I was certain my job description was 'coach' first and not 'disciplinarian' I'm not there to punish their kids because they couldn't. I always knew thats school would come back to haunt me. I spent the first part of the summer still working hard to be told my position in SLC was under threat because of the complaint (apparently it was a few complaints which I'm not buying' my boss hardly spoke to me, never sent me emails about the fall until I got told they were removing me from SLC and I no longer had my job there, replaced by a 1st coach. I guess thats where 4 years hard work gets you. Not once did I get asked my side of the story, they took the schools word before hearing mine and sealed my fate.
No comments:
Post a Comment