Thursday, October 24, 2013

5 days.......

Has it really been 2 weeks since my last post?  Honestly where has the time gone because it's flew by in no time.

This past week has been my most enjoyable week since I've been here.  I'm staying with a really nice family who are laid back and the kids are good fun.  It's a big difference when the family socialize with you as I do with them.  I've also continued my running and have managed to up my distance to 3 miles which I'm running without stopping.  Today i was only 40 seconds off my 3 mile outdoor record, to reach that in such little time is superb.  My fitness has improved a lot the past 2-3 weeks since I've been running and playing soccer, it's been much needed.

Today I finished all my coaching obligations and that's me finally finished.  Overall the last 4 years with this company has been really enjoyable, I've met some great families who I now call friends and more importantly I met Michelle.  The future for me looks great and I'm so happy, honored and privileged that I get to spend it with Michelle who I love with all my heart.  Despite all thats happened this year in terms of work I wouldn't change it for anything.  It's put me on this exciting path and I'm looking forward to the future.  Obviously I'd love to get these 8 weeks back I've been away from Michelle but we have coped, made us stronger and I'm so excited to go back to Michelle.  Next week is going to be super exciting thats for sure.

I love coaching I really do and I've booked onto sit the E license course, my first crack at the American coaching pathway.  I'm looking forward to getting back and begin coaching a team, a comp team at that.  Everything looking forward is looking bright.

In 5 days I'll be on my way back to Utah, SLC airport, Tooele and more importantly Michelle.  I really can't wait now and it's just round the corner.

5 days.......

Thursday, October 10, 2013

19 days.......part 2

So I then ended up in Cincinnati, Ohio for the fall which I was really reluctant to take as I would be away from Michelle for 8 weeks but due to financial reasons I had to take it.  Now heres my next 'coincidence'  My boss here tells me the host families are worried I'm not socializing enough with them which baffles me.  I'll admit my first week I kept to myself, didn't want to be here and hated being away from Michelle that I was an absolute state emotionally that week. Now remember I work evenings witht the clubs. Week 2 I'm staying with a family, the mum works all day and the Dad works from home, always in his office with the door shut so I rarely see them, then I work evenings.  I seen the baby sitter more than the host family.  First night there they go out to the Baseball game leaving me on my own.  3rd week I'm staying with a family who are up and out the house for 8.30 every morning, workers in the house too, hosts sometimes come back for 10mins then out again so I chill out then work evenings. Sometimes the kids and dad are away to boy scouts in the evenings, by the time I finish coaching they've ate dinner so I eat on my own.  Still I'm the one not socializing.  So barely a week after that I call my next host to see whan they want me to arrive to suddenly be told 'we got an email saying Challenger had moved you host and you wouldn't be staying here' the co ordinator no longer sorting my host situation out now.  Then I arrive at my next host, a single dad and no kids, works all daya nd coaches evening (coincidence)  I'm staying in the basement area which really isn't healthy at all.  Garbage bins full with garbage, cigarettes and all sorts, turns out the basement where I'm staying is the 'designated smoking area' hence the stench of cigarette smell  everywhere.  Dust all over the place, cobwebs in the corners of every wall, shower doesn't run cold watera and I'm sharing this basement with crickets which tops it all off.  I ask my boss for my next host information to be told 'you're staying there for the rest of your time here'  never in my 4 years have I complained about a host or asked to be moved but for health reasons I'm well within my right to be asked to get moved as this isn't living conditions.  I then get told 'we are working all evening and weekends plus dealing with visa stuff so we can try find you a new host but It'll take time'  seems my health isn't a priority here, I even say 'can't the co ordinator sort it out then like she was meant to be doing'  turns out thats no longer an option 'while she still sorts the other coach out with hosts'  why is the co ordinator no longer involved in my housing? Why is it being done by them now?

I'm beyond annoyed and frustrated now, I really hope this is all coincidence but a part of me thinks otherwise after whats went on.  I need to be done here now, my last few weeks with this company is ending on a worse note which I'm disappointed with.  I have 19 days to see this out and I'm done.

19 days.......part 1

Do you ever get that feeling like everyone is against you?  You can do no right?  Well, thats the way I'm feeling right now and like Michelle said to me, along these lines 'you should blog to air your feelings and you'll feel much better'  I'm deciding to blog today and air my grievances.

4 years I've been with this company, I've worked so hard, a lot harder than others I may add.  I even got  'coach of the year' for the work I done in 2011 which was a highlight of my coaching career but the summer of 2012 was amongst the worst I've had in terms of coaches I worked with, the quality and attitude of coaches also.  2013 never improved at all and it seems this company are employing people to simply 'make up the numbers' despite their obvious lack of coaching experience and more worrying knowledge and qualifications.  It's just as well parents who send their kids to the camps dont know much about coaching ability otherwise things would go downhill much faster.  For me this 'job' is all about the lifestyle to around 75% of the people employed, some even using it as a holiday.  I pride myself in being in that 25% bracket who's here for the job, to coach kids and make a difference.

Today I had a real think about things and what follows might just be coincidence or it might just be that everyone is against me.

Spring 2013, I'm doing my work in SLC which I loved despite the fact it was 90% pre school work.  One school which I was at was a nightmare from day 1, kids behaviour was dreadful, never listened, parents sat there and done nothing, even witnessed a kid defying one parents repeated warnings to stop doing something but was ignored.  How could I get the kids to listen if they don't want to?  Parents do nothing? Teachers do nothing?  I went down the route of sitting them out but to no avail, so I persevered as I have patients.  It got to the stage where I had enough and had a word with the head teacher of the school.  I told her about the kids behaviour, parents doing nothing.  2 kids were the instigators while their parents done nothing to help.  It was around a day or 2 later I get an email from my boss telling me the school aren't happy with me (coincidence?', that I don't discipline kids and they want improvement.  Not once was I asked about my side or anything, just took the schools word for it.  Turns out one of the kids who messed around and who's parent done nothing was a teacher at the school.  No doubt they took that as offence that I'm saying the parent (teacher) isn't helping control her kid.  Not once was I asked about things.  That kids sat there and threw sticks at me, never listened, never paid attention, called me names, one actually callled me an idiot.  But I had patients and shrugged it off.  But yet I'm the bad guy.  I was certain my job description was 'coach' first and not 'disciplinarian' I'm not there to punish their kids because they couldn't.  I always knew thats school would come back to haunt me.  I spent the first part of the summer still working hard to be told my position in SLC was under threat because of the complaint (apparently it was a few complaints which I'm not buying' my boss hardly spoke to me, never sent me emails about the fall until I got told they were removing me from SLC and I no longer had my job there, replaced by a 1st coach.  I guess thats where 4 years hard work gets you.  Not once did I get asked my side of the story, they took the schools word before hearing mine and sealed my fate.

Tuesday, October 8, 2013

The problem with modern day Football (Soccer)

Incase you don't know I'm soccer daft, love watcing it, love coaching it, love the passion and everything that goes with it.

Almost 2 years ago in college I done a piece of work highlighting how transfer fees for players have spiralled out of control, going from the 1st 1M player, to the 15M sale of Alan Shearer, to the 42M transfer of Zidane, the 85M transfer of Ronaldo to now the 86M transfer of Bale.  It's really gone out of control but this is'nt what this blog is about.

The modern day footballer, on a wage per week that people struggle to make in 5-10 years and that's just for the average player.  I've grew up watching the game, Scottish football, English football, Italian football and other leagues as they've produced players who've gone on to be household names.  I remember when top players were on 50k a week, nowadays thats a wage for a distinctively average player with the best commanding upwards of 150k a week.  I've seen bare average players who rarely play pick up 50k a week.  It's got out of control.

This blog is based on one game I watched last weekend.  Sunderland v Man U.  Sunderland bottom of the league, their players got the manager sacked because he believed in old school management, having to earn the right to be where you are, respecting the senior players, young players having to seriously work to be where they want to be.  But yet the senior players, who are picking up in excess of 50K a week took the huff, felt they didn't deserve to work extra hard in training 'pampered players' I call them and duely got the manager sacked.  Welcome to modern day football.

Here's my biggest beef with modern day football, the 'young player'.  Back in the day young players had to work super hard to get near the 1st team set up, they'd clean the senior players boots and no doubt a host of other stuff, they all couldn't afford cars so they got lifts to training.  Nowadays its flipped, they swan around in fancy cars despite not featuring for the 1st team, picking up thousands of  pounds a week before its earned.  Who decided these players deserve big wages before its earned?.  The governing bodies around Britain wonder why young players aren't getting produced , they are getting produced but they slack off once you hand them big fancy contracts, their work ethic no longer exists and their effort drops as in their eyes 'they've made it' and that contract will keep them happy for years to come.

Adnan Januzaj.   The 18 year old Man U player who last week no one had ever really heard of.  He starts against Sunderland (bottom of the league) and scores 2 goals on his debut.  Now all of a sudden you'd think this was the next Messi, Ronaldo, Zidane by the way the media have acted.  Not even a week has passed where already he's rumoured to be signing a new deal worth 50K a week and a number of countries are pathetically fighting over who he should play for (born in Belgium so that really should be the end of it) thanks to this stupid parent and grand parent rule.  Born in Belgium but your Mum is Albanian, Dads French, Grandfather was born on Mars and your Grandmother was born in the air over Spain and Portugal so take your pick what country to play for.  All because of one game, 2 goals.....against the worst team in the league.  No one can justify how this kid is suddenly worth 50K a week after one performance.  Who knows what he'll be like in 4 years time, if he's still amazing then give him what you want if he's proved it for 4 years solid at the highest level.  In my view younger players get too much, too young, too fast.  It's what's ruining the modern day game in my view and it shows no sign of stopping.

21 days.......

So I've now reached some what of a needed date today, today is 21 days or 3 weeks till I fly back.  Why is the 21 days mark important?  It has now put me beyond the half way stage of my time here until I leave.  The weeks have flew by quickly but not quite quick enough for my liking.  The last 21 days here I have no doubt will fly by in no time, much quicker than the previous days.

The last few weeks I've really been bored as I have nowhere to go and nothing much to do.  I've started running again and I've seen my fitness improve slightly as I've ran more and more, also playing soccer has improved my fitness too, got my muscles working and my dynamic movement that comes with playing.  I said in my previous blog (I think anyway) that I was told to socialize more with the host families as they had mentioned I'm very quiet.  Heres the part that gets me.  How can I socialize with families when they are never in and we have conflicting work schedules?  Families  i've stayed with work during the day and I work evenings, I really felt like an idiot having to point this out and state that while talking to my boss.  Things like that work both ways but with this job, the coach is always the one who has to do all the work, has to please everyone but rarely do they ask the coach this simple question 'how was the family you stayed with?' I've never complained or moaned about host families in my time with this company.  They don't know about my host experience in Gunnison, Utah 2011, sleeping on the floor in Taos, New Mexico 2010, my 2nd host this fall on my first day there all went off to the Baseball game leaving me on my own, my current experience this week in Ohio (just for the record I'm staying in the basement on a roll out bed, no room, the shower only runs boiling hot water and the basement smells of cigarettes as it's the smoking area) do I complain?  Not at all, I shrug it off and move on.

Last Saturday night I was that bored, with some debate I decided to walk a mile to a bar to have a cold drink.  It was only there I fully realized how alone and fed up I've been here,  I also thought over my time here this year.  Outwith work it's been the best year of my entire life thanks to Michelle, she injected me with happiness I've never had before and I love her so much.  Work wise it's been a nightmare, I've fully realized how far the standard has dropped in this company, what takes priority and how easy it is to be praised simply by kissing someones ass.  I'm not big headed, far from it but I've been with the company for 4 years, one of the most experienced coaches and hard working coaches but still I found myself working camps with 1 coach and like 8 kids while others who don't even coach as a profession get to run 8-10 coach camps.  They really wonder why their numbers have dropped a lot in the past few years, look no further than who you employ and who's running the bigger camps down in numbers.

Enough of that for now.  I have 21 days left to see out here and I'm really ready to finish now and get back home to Michelle where I belong, I miss her so much and I've certainly been away long enough.  Skyping has been great but I hate seeing her down and I'm not there to comfort her like I should.  So comon October, do my a favour and speed things up for me and push me towards the 29th, I'd be forever grateful.

21 days.......

Friday, September 27, 2013

32 days.....

That's almost another week over and done with and with each passing day I'm a day closer to going back to Tooele with Michelle, I'm hoping the weeks continue to go fast like the last 3 have done.

This week started of well until I decided to clean up the Ipad web browser a bit.  I closed my blog page, went to log back in when I sat staring at the screen....I only went and forgot my email and password I used, oops.  As anyone knows this can be a nightmare because when you type in something wrong for 'security reasons' it doesn't be specific with you as to what part is wrong, the email or password.  So I spent around an hour going through all the email combinations I'd use and also passwords, after each email attempts and at least 6 password combinations I gave up as it was driving me crazy.  The next day I decided to try again and low and behold, the first email I put in and password was correct wooooooo, finally logged back into my blog page, worry over.

Apart from that its been a rather uneventful week, its been quick and easy, coaching has went well which is always a bonus and I'm still out running.  I do a 2 mile run round a few streets and back and my time has started to decrease slowly which is excellent, its a ling road back to fitness but I'm finally on that road thanks to some motivation from Michelle, thanks my love :-).  I'm also playing soccer for the next 4 Sundays which will also aid in my fitness so thats defo good.

I'm just happy the weeks are going by fast, I'm now finished week 4 of coaching and only have 4 more weeks left, lets hope these 4 weeks fly by like the last 3 have done and I can be on my way back to Tooele to meet Michelle at the airport, give her a massive hug and kiss then go to China buffet for dinner.

The dinner is still on me.


Sunday, September 22, 2013

37 days.....

I wasn't planning on blogging till Tuesday but thought I'd do one today as it's been a busy week.

I had my medical done on Wednesday where the Doc's had great joy prodding me with all sorts of jabs.  First I had blood took which I'll admit really made me light headed, then they done the TB test...another jab then to top it all off another Jab for a Tetanus.  I went back friday for my results and everything was spot on and good to go, a worry over and another step forward.

I'd been getting so lazy lately and as always, Michelle has been my inspiration.  Some great motivation finally got me off my ass and I went for 2 runs this week, albeit a total of 3 miles, it's a working progress to rediscover my cardio.  I's gonna take a while before I begin to run my normal distances of 3-6 miles.  Also today I played my first soccer game since Spring.  Was a co-ed game and the level was actually not too bad.  My legs managed to last the 50mins, score 2 goals and set up another 3, we were winning 5-3 with 3 mins to go then for some reason we changed keeper.....who must have thought he was still outfield and we.....or he lost us 4 goals in 3 mins and we lost the game 7-5, despite that it was fun and good to play again and looks like I'll play for the next 4-5 sundays.  This will no doubt pass the time even more.  Even after playing soccer i decided to walk to the nearby mall, around a 1.5 mile walk there.  It's safe to say my legs are now resting today lol.

Here's one thing I figured out today.  Because I don't have the car, like I said I walked to the mall.   I never passed one person on my way there, this being America people drive everywhere and I realised why:  In Ohio, Cincinnati where I'm staying there is a distinct lack of walk ways to walk on, to get across the road you need to walk around 1/4 mile to get to lights, people must have drove by me thinking 'what's that idiot doing walking?'  The walk was an adventure and I now realise why people here drive everywhere.  Lesson learnt.

I'm almost at the halfway point here now which is excellent, I'll feel so much better knowing I'm half done here and soon I'll be back to Michelle, that excites me more than anything.

On another note my beloved Rangers are now 6 out of 6 in the league and coasting back to the Premier league where we belong, RFC 1872.

37 days to go.....